Light In the dark

My father used to say to me “Hell is other people”.

He was an intelligent man, a man of code and honor, a man of integrity and pride.

But a man who has known hell, he was not. For he was a very solitary man and not exceedingly fond of other people. He made that unboundedly clear the day I turned 18 as he threw me out with no second thought and with no remorse.

I also shared his ideals on people; this of course was before the incident.

Before the darkness and its soul crushing emptiness.

For no man will ever find hell with company, as the ultimate despair is loneliness.

_______________________________________________________________________

I woke up with a jolt, my eyes open as fast as I came to.

Everything was fuzzy; the only thing I could see was a blurry ray of light plowing through the dust from the curtains. Everything was so cloudy; my thoughts were out of focus, memories faded as soon as they came. How long have I been out of it? What had happened? What day was today?

Then everything came back to me; the despair, the heartwrenching anxiety, the fear.

My headache made it impossible to think, I had to go out on the balcony, I had to get some fresh air.

The light was blinding, had I really slept throughout the night?

But as soon as my eyes had adjusted to the scenery that was laid out in front of me, it was already too late.

For I had not slept throughout the nights as I had previously though,

No, this light came from within the darkness of night.

For I will never forget the morning I saw a sea of flames, dancing on the rooftops of a dead city.

This entry was posted in Page 5.

Leave a comment